Admin Alert: The Right Way to Delete IBM i User Profiles, Part 1

IT Jungle just published part one of my two-part article on how to properly delete IBM i user profiles. It’s a primer on how to get the most out of the deletion process including:

  • What you need to do in that grey area between when you’re notified that a user has left the organization and when you actually perform the deletion
  • How to disable user profiles on both the green screen and in System i Navigator (OpsNav)
  • When and why it’s important to identify an heir apparent for a terminated user

Part one deals with the prep work for deleting a user profile. Part two which will be published on August 8th, deals with the mechanics of deleting a profile along with a few tricks for profile deletion.

Click here to read part one.

**************************************************

Follow Joe Hertvik on Twitter @JoeHertvik. You can also add Joe to your professional network on LinkedIn by clicking here.

About Joe Hertvik

Joe is the owner of Hertvik Business Services, a service company providing written white papers, case studies, and other marketing content to computer industry companies. He is also a contributing editor for IT Jungle and has written the Admin Alert column for the past ten years. Follow Joe Hertvik on Twitter @JoeHertvik. Email Joe for a free quote on white papers, case studies, brochures, or other marketing materials.
This entry was posted in IBM i Tech Info. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *